We are pleased to announce that the 2017 Conference of the series Magnetic Fields in the Universe will be held in the at the International Institute of Physics (IIP), in Natal that is also a northeast Brazilian beach paradise. You may find additional information regarding registration, venue and talks/posters below.

We hope to see you in Natal!



REGISTRATION (New deadline!)


REGISTRATION and abstract submission: following this  LINK


IMPORTANT: the deadline for Abstract Submission is 25th September, 2017.



Hotel Information


there are special room rates for the participants of MFUVI in the following hotels/hostels:


Hotel Pousada O Tempo e o Vento

Single room: R$ 90,00 Brazilian reais per night

Double room: R$ 130,00 Brazilian reais per night

Reservation through the email:



Praiamar Natal Hotel & Convention

Please use this group code to get the discount: vortex2017

Single room: R$231,90  Brazilian reais per night

Double room:  R$ 248,47 Brazilian reais per night



Ocean Palace Beach Resort & Bungalows

Single/Double room (superior): R$290,00 Brazilian reais per night

Single/Double room (lux):  R$ 340,00 Brazilian reais per night



Holiday Inn Natal Ponta Negra

Single/Double room (superior): R$220,00 Brazilian reais per night

Single/Double room (lux):  R$ 260,00 Brazilian reais per night




Information For Visitors (VISA, about Natal, etc.)





Most of the baryonic matter in the Universe is composed of ionized or partially ionized gas permeated by magnetic fields (i.e. plasma state). Magnetic fields therefore play a key role in its evolution.

     This conference will be the 6th edition of the series "Magnetic Fields in the Universe VI:  from Laboratory and Stars to the Primordial Structures" that, since 2004, have brought together experts involved in Astrophysical, Space and Laboratory Plasmas and young researchers. The goal of this series is to provide ample exchange of the new results and recent progress in these distinct but closely related research areas and provide the new generation with a broad perspective of the field. It has allowed cross-pollination of disciplines.

     The topics addressed cover magnetic fields in a broad variety of processes and environments: from plasma laboratory to the solar corona, the heliosphere, the interstellar medium, external galaxies, clusters of galaxies, the intergalactic medium and the primordial Universe. The perspectives given to the audience on each of these topics are theoretical and/or numerical, as well as observational.

     Magnetic fields are notoriously difficult to observe in space because their measurements involve polarized signals that are weak in general and polluted by instrumental effects. Only now do we enter a new era when observations are able to challenge theory. This is so thanks to new facilities in several frequency domains.

     Imaging polarimeters in the visible and sensitive bolometers with polarimetry capability in the submillimeter domain have been installed on new telescopes and interferometers, such as ALMA in Chile. These facilities already allow a major step forward in our knowledge of magnetic fields in star forming regions, in molecular clouds, in protoplanetary disks, in stars. In the radio domain, new facilities, such as LOFAR, and coming ones, such as the Square Kilometre Array (SKA) and the Australian SKA pathfinder (ASKAP), will also address fundamental questions about the evolution of the Universe including the origins of the first stars and the generation of magnetic fields in space. Another major international instrument dedicated to cosmic accelerators, the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA), a gamma-ray facility in the 20GeV-100TeV domain, will impact not only the domain of high energy astrophysics but also cosmology and fundamental physics. Another breakthrough is the all-sky survey of polarized emission performed by the Planck satellite over a broad frequency range (70 GHz to 353 GHz). The polarized data have been publicly released in late 2014.


    The topics addressed will cover :

A - Fundamental processes :

  • Reconnection
  • Dynamo
  • Acceleration of high energy particles
  • Turbulence and magnetic fields
  • Polarization of radiation (dust, synchrotron)
  • Thermal and non-thermal radiation magneto-hydrodynamics

B - Magnetic fields in astrophysical environments:

  • The Sun and heliosphere, solar wind, interplanetary and local ISM
  • Interstellar turbulence
  • Magnetic fields and star formation
  • Magnetic fields in galaxies and galaxy clusters
  • Primordial magnetic fields

C - Numerical and observational challenges




  • B. Gaensler
  • A Lazarian
  • B-G Andersson
  • A.M. Magalhaes
  • B Burkhart
  • M. Houde
  • L. Fissel
  • K H Yuen
  • S Clark
  • H Yan
  • M MacLow
  • P Hennebelle
  • A Maury
  • G Brunetti
  • J Cho (TBC)
  • R Santos Lima
  • G Kowal
  • E M de Gouveia dal Pino
  • S Xu
  • G Guerrero
  • D Falceta-Gonçalves
  • K Dolag
  • J Soler



The conference venue is the International Institute of Physics (IIP), located inside the campus of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, in the city of Natal.


The State of Rio Grande do Norte is located the the northeast tip of the Brazilian territory, at the closest end towards Europe. Being close to the equator, its climate is stable during the whole year, though not too hot due to the light breeze coming from the ocean all day long. You should expect a warm, but confortable, weather during the conference.


Natal is the capital of the State of RN. It is a large city with a lively environment, many options of restaurants, shops, with great nightlife, and a large assortment of hotels. If you want to get closer to the Nature, Natal is immersed in a large area of dunes and white sand beaches, perfect for diving, sailing, swimming or simply appreciating locally grown shrimps while laying at the beach.


We are planning excursions to the best tourist attactions of Natal (and surroundings). We will post more information on that soon.

Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC)

  • Blakesley Burkhart (CfA, Harvard U., USA)
  • Alejandro Esquivel (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Elisabete M de Gouveia Dal Pino (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil) - chair
  • Diego Falceta-Gonçalves (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil) - chair
  • Edith Falgarone (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France)
  • José Franco (UNAM, Mexico)
  • Alexandre Lazarian (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA) - chair
  • Sui Ann Mao (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy, Germany)
  • Christopher McKee (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Stuart Prager (Plasma Physics Laboratory, Princeton, USA)
  • Ralph Pudritz (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Kazunari Shibata (Kyoto University, Japan)

Local Organizing Comittee (LOC)

  • Diego Falceta Gonçalves (USP) - chair
  • José Renan de Medeiros (UFRN) - co chair
  • Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (USP)
  • Alexander Lazarian (IIP- UFRN)
  • Bruno Leonardo Canto Martins (UFRN)
  • Grzegorz Kowal (UNICSUL)
  • Germán Lugones (UFABC)